Head out of the Clouds and onto the Trail

Another part of my 16 in 2016 checked off! #2 is to incorporate a trail run at least once a month and I am happy to report that I made it onto the trails in January! We had an unseasonably warm (~50 degree) day here in Nashville and I decided to fully take advantage of this by hitting up the red loop (4.5 miles) at Percy Warner Park.

The skies were gray, but the scenery was still beautiful.  There is something so calming about a gray sky with no leaves on the trees.  I happened to embark on this run on the anniversary of my father’s death and the atmosphere was exactly what I needed.  I turned on some Coldplay and just ran.  Old school Coldplay is my FAVORITE mellow playlist.  I could listen to Yellow, The Scientist, Fix You, etc. on repeat for days.  Like I’ve said before, trail running really makes me forget about pace and appreciate the steps I’m taking at that moment.  I slow down and just go.  When I hit a steep hill, I walk it, then appreciate the downhills and straightaways.  I feel stronger with each step and forget my worries.  I am super excited to continue the tradition of a trail running throughout the year! Let’s hope I get another unseasonably warm day in February.
Have you ever tried trail running? What do you like about it?

Leave a Reply

