Day 8: 10 Day Detox Diet

See Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, and why I’m doing this.

This morning I headed back to my apartment gym for my morning workout.  After a tough Barry’s workout last night, I decided to take it easy this morning and just walk on the treadmill at a small incline for the 30 minutes.  I got ready, had my supplements and pgx, and headed out the door!

I’m traveling for work, so I had my smoothie (made the night before) during my hour and a half commute.  My digestion seems to be better today my skin hasn’t got any worse (although it hasn’t improved either), so I’m hoping for positive results to come! I stared at the restaurant menu for lunch for a good 10 minutes before deciding what I wanted (and could) eat.  I decided on a crab and shrimp salad since those are two proteins I hadn’t had in awhile.  The salad was described as “shredded crab meat and tender shrimp seasoned and on top of iceberg lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and orange.” Every other salad on the menu stated that cheese was included, so I thought I was safe not specifying “no cheese.” Apparently I was wrong and the salad came mixed with shredded cheese.  No possible way to remove it.  I was doing so well!! Luckily I easily avoided the croutons, but I’m really hoping the small bit of dairy doesn’t cause any flair ups.  On the positive side, my shake this morning held me over until lunch and I didn’t need a morning snack.

I did, however, have an afternoon snack and ended up having some cashews during my commute home. Then, I headed to the walk in clinic because the roof of my mouth is really hurting (bizarre, I know) and I’ve been having headaches throughout the day. I had intended to do a yoga or pilates class this evening, but I’ll take this as a cue that I need some rest. Doctor said it’s not strep or anything bacterial, so it’s likely viral/inflammation and I need to drink a lot of fluids and take some ibuprofen for the headaches; two things I had been doing.  Hopefully I’ll kick it in 3-4 days and I’m happy I’m not contagious!

For dinner, I recreated my meal from Day 1, which was sauteed salmon (seasoned with salt and pepper) and sauteed red onions (with salt, pepper, and parsley) over a bed of arugula.  Everything was sauteed in olive oil and then I squeezed some lemon juice over the whole thing at the end.  I love how quickly I was able to throw this dish together! About 15 minutes from start to end.

 Another day in the books! Felt like I had so much time on my hands without an evening workout! Perfect time to catch up on some of my Bravo shows.

On to Day 9!

Anyone watch Bravo? Favorite show?

4 thoughts on “Day 8: 10 Day Detox Diet

Leave a Reply

