10 Day Detox Diet Overview

I’m going to try and keep this brief and do a pro/con list since each of my daily recaps were a bit lengthy.

See Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6, Day 7, Day 8, Day 9, Day 10, and the why.

For anyone wondering about weight loss, I stopped weighing myself a few weeks ago so I don’t have before/after numbers on that. I can say that I got smaller, because I took measurements of my waist, hips, butt, and thigh and they all decreased.

Pros:

  • I really enjoyed the food and recipes that were laid out. I definitely plan on reusing most of them.
  • My cravings for sugar and carby snacks went away!
  • I learned the importance of a big breakfast and often didn’t need a morning snack
  • Learning first hand that eating fat doesn’t make me fat
  • I started to appreciate journaling
  • It got me into a morning workout routine

Cons:

  • Food preparation took a long time. In the future, I plan on batch cooking some meals and eating them throughout the week.
  • Eating out felt overwhelming and slightly impossible.
  • The whole process was very time consuming and I didn’t even do some of the recommended daily tasks (bath, breathing exercises, writing down every single thing I ate and how it made me feel)
  • The supplements were quite pricey and I’m curious if they actually helped
  • For me, no coffee was too difficult

Overall, I plan on keeping with the diet while cooking for myself, but won’t stress too much when eating out (for sanity’s sake). This basically means I plan to cook sugar, gluten, and dairy free but will not stress if I have dessert on special occasions or have a little cheese in my food when eating out. Keeping the diet 100% of the time I think would drive me crazy with guilt over unintentionally messing up.

The verdict on whether this helped my skin is still out. I hit a rough patch and then my skin started to improve, but then I traveled and my skin got worse. My skin ALWAYS breaks out after I spend a lot of time in a plane and sleeping in a hotel room, so this wasn’t atypical.

Will you try this diet? Any questions?

Leave a Reply

