Day 2: 10 Day Detox Diet

See Day 1 here and why I’m doing this here.

On to Day 2! I woke up and headed to the gym.  I had intended to run on the treadmill for 30 minutes, but my body wasn’t fully awake yet, so it probably ended up being 20 minute run/10 minute walk.  I got ready for the day, had my supplements, and downed the pgx before heading off to work.

I was pretty hungry when I got to work, so I drank the smoothie right away.  Usually, I like to wait a little bit (until 8:45-9) so I don’t get hungry for lunch too early, but I just couldn’t wait today.  I started getting hungry around 10:15, which was a bummer (I thought my hunger was supposed to go down on this!!!) so I snacked on some nuts.  I also thought about quitting again because I hate having to tell myself no to certain things. BUT I’m putting my journey out there, so I’ve gotta keep going!

On the plus side, I’ve been drinking a TON of water because I’m trying to ignore my hunger.  On the negative side, my caffeine withdrawal headache is still there.  Luckily, I brought ibuprofen to work!

For lunch I had a salad with spinach, salmon, cauliflower, carrots, walnuts, and an olive oil/lemon dressing.  I had this at 11:30 and was pleasantly surprised that I did not feel the need for an afternoon snack until I had 4:30, when I snacked on some broccoli.  What did I feel the need for? Coffee.  So I gave in.  I really contemplated pushing through for awhile but my headache was not going away and I was REALLY having trouble focusing because I was so tired.  I can’t really afford to have this going on while at work, so I had ONE cup.  I felt GREAT after it.  My focus was back and I no longer felt the need to take a nap.  At this point, I Felt my work productivity was more important.

Also, I feel like if I’m going to “cheat” on this diet, coffee is a much better thing to cheat with than other form of caffeine (sugar, pop, etc.). I’m going to try again tomorrow to not have any coffee unless I really feel like I need it.  After work I took a class at Marathon Pilates  and got a good stretch in.  I forgot to bring my pgx to work, so I didn’t have that pre-lunch and I met up with a friend for dinner after pilates, so I didn’t have it pre-dinner either.

We went to Smiling Elephant for dinner and I checked the blood sugar solution restaurant guide for advice on what to get at a Thai restaurant.  I was very happy to see that I could order curry and be guilt free! Smiling Elephant has a different curry each day and it’s one my favorite items on the menu!  I even had some leftovers for lunch the next day and the green curry hit the spot.

I skipped the detox bath again, but put some lavender essential oil in my diffuser and relaxed while I journaled.  Another day in the books!

 

11 thoughts on “Day 2: 10 Day Detox Diet

Leave a Reply

